The District is proud of its involvement with a number of professional communities and organizations, including:

(California Association of Sanitation Agencies)
(National Association of Clean Water Agencies)
(California Sanitation Risk Management Authority)
(California Water Environment Association)
(Water Environment Research Foundation)
(CA Regional Water Quality Control Board)
(United States Environmental Protection Agency)
(Government Finance Officers Association of the US and Canada)

Achievements and formal recognition

  • California Association of Sanitation Agencies:

    • 2011 Public Outreach and Education Award—Large Agency from the California Sanitation Agencies for its Clean Water Outreach Program
    • Organizational Innovation Award 2009
    • 2005 Achievement Award for “Innovative Treatment of High-Strength Food Processing Waste”
  • California Water Environment Association:

    • State-wide Plant of the Year Award 2014 and 2015, in the large plant category
    • State-wide Collection System of the Year Award 2013
    • State-wide Plant of the Year Award 2011 in the 5 to 20 MGD category
    • State-wide Engineering Achievement Award, Second Place
  • National Association of Clean Water Agencies:

    • Platinum Award in 2012 in recognition of 5 or more years with 100 percent National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit (NPDES) compliance
    • Gold Award in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2015 in recognition of one year with 100 percent NPDES compliance
    • Silver Award in 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2007—in recognition of consistent NPDES compliance
    • Certificate of Recognition September 2016 – Water Resources Utility of the Future Today Program, for innovative and forward thinking practices that are providing sustainable, efficient and value-added services to the community.
  • California Water Environment Association (CWEA)—Sacramento Area Section:

    • Plant of the Year Award in 1990, 1992, 1999, 2000, 2006, 2007 and 2008
  • California Water Environment Association (CWEA)—Redwood Empire Section:

    • Plant of the Year Award in 2011 and 2013
    • Plant of the Year Award, Greater than 20MGD in 2014
    • Public Education Award in 2011
    • Safety Award in 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2015
    • Collection System of the Year Award in 2009 and 2013
    • Engineering Achievement Award in 2014
  • California Sanitation Risk Management Authority (CSRMA):

    • Workers’ Compensation Excellence Award, Large Agency Category, 2011/12 and 2012/13
    • SHELL (Safety, Health, Environmental, Liability and Loss) Awards in 2012 (Bronze Award), 2013 (Silver Award), and in 2014 Winner of the 2014 CSRMA SHELL Award
    • Worker’s Compensation Excellence Award, Medium Agency Category, 2010/11
    • Recognized in fiscal years 1997/98, 1999/00, and 2004/05—in the small member agency category—for Workers’ Compensation Program with the Lowest Claims Frequency Rate & Lowest Claims Cost as a Percentage of Payroll
    • Loss Control Program of the Year, fiscal year 2006/07
  • Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA):

      • Special recognition Excellence in Financial Reporting for eighteen consecutive fiscal years – June 1998 through June 2017
    • Fairfield-Suisun Chamber of Commerce:

      • Best Partnership Award with Lystek, Inc.